Cultural Development Committee (CDC)

The role of the Cultural Development Committee is to lead Council in the strategic planning and development of the community's cultural sector in collaboration with all sectors of the economy.  The Committee makes recommendations to Council and promotes heritage and a high level of creativity, diversity and excellence in the cultural life of Nelson

Regulation:           Cultural Development Committee Bylaw and Art in Public Places Policy

Composition:         The CDC consists of a maximum of 11 voting members:
                                  Councillor Warmington with Councillor Purcell as Alternate      

Member Representation:

CATEGORY 1 (City Supported Organizations, 3-year term)
1) Capitol Theatre Restoration Society (E.D.)
2) Touchstones Nelson: Museum of Art and History (E.D.)
3) Nelson Civic Theatre Society (E.D.)
4) Nelson & District Arts Council (E.D)   

CATEGORY 2 (Community Arts Organizations, 3-year term)
5) Oxygen Art Centre (aka Nelson Fine Art Centre Society) (E.D.)
6) Selkirk College/Kootenay Studio Arts

CATEGORY 3 (Regional Affiliated Support Organizations, 3-year term)
7) Nelson Kootenay Lake Tourism (E.D.)
8) West Kootenay Regional Arts Council (E.D.)

CATEGORY 4 (General Representatives, 2 Year Terms)
9) Literature
10) Music
11) Dance
12) Aboriginal

1) One member of City Council, plus alternate                

Meetings:                First Wednesday of each month at 11:30 a.m. at City Hall
Quorum:                  5 members
Chair:                       Stephanie Fischer
Documents:            Minutes, reports, bylaw and related documents can be found here


City of Nelson
Cultural Development Committee
Suite 101, 310 Ward St.
Nelson BC V1L 5S4
Phone: (250) 352-8285
Fax: (250) 352-2131
Email: Joanne Caldecott at

Meta Navigation

Pay Now

Pay Now

Pay Online