Mayor & Council

An elected Council comprising a mayor and six councillors governs the City of Nelson. Councillors are elected for three-year terms and each member of Council represents the City at large. The Local Government Act gives Council the authority to set budgets, levy taxes and establish policies to guide the growth, development and operation of the City for the benefit and protections of its citizens.  The current City Council was elected November 19, 2011, to govern for the three-year period from December 2011 to the first Monday in December 2014.

Meta Navigation