2018 election

General Voting Day: October 20, 2018.

More information on the 2018 general election will be available here soon!

In the meantime, please visit ElectionsBC.

Key Dates

  • Election period                                                                                          Monday January 1 - Friday September 21, 2018
  • Candidate Packages available                                                                  Friday July 27, 2018
  • Nomination period                                                                                Tuesday September 4 - Saturday September 14, 2018
  • Campaign period                                                                                        Saturday September 22 - Saturday October 20, 2018
  • Advance Voting Days                                                                                Wednesday October 10 & Wednesday October 17, 2018
  • General voting day                                                                                  Saturday October 20, 2018
  • Inaugural meeting                                                                                      Monday November 5, 2018

Requirements to vote or become a candidate

To vote or run in the election, you must:

  • Be 18 years of age or older on general voting day
  • Be a Canadian citizen
  • Have lived in BC for at least 6 months immediately before the day nomination papers are filed
  • Not be disqualified by law from being nominated, elected or holding office



For more information contact:

Sarah Winton                               Deputy Corporate Officer / Chief Elections Officer                               PH: 250.352.8120                                 Email: Swinton@nelson.ca